Monday, October 12, 2015

Canvas NH for Hillary Clinton with Maura Healey

Join us for a canvas with Attorney General Maura Healey in support of Hillary Clinton for President.

Date: Saturday, October 17th
Time: 11:30 AM
Location: Hillary Clinton Nashua Office (97 Main Street, Nashua, NH)


Friday, October 9, 2015

Middleborough DTC Italian Night

Middleborough DTC Italian Night
Date: Saturday, October 17th
Time: 5PM, Buffet at 6PM, Speaking Program at 7PM
Location: Middleborough Elks Lodge (24 High Street)

Suggested donation $25/person, $35/couple

Call Tom Maguire at 508-947-7196 or Charlie Goodspeed at 508-947-4535.

Monday, October 5, 2015

Bridgewater DTC October Meeting

Join the Bridgewater DTC for our monthly meeting!

Date: Thursday, October 8th
Time: 7PM
Location: Bridgewater Senior Center

We hope to see you there!

Sunday, October 4, 2015

Celebrate State Rep. Jim Cantwell's 49th Birthday!

Campaign Fundraiser celebrating the 49th Birthday of State Representative Jim Cantwell

Date: Saturday, October 24th
Time: 6PM to 10PM
Location: Haddad's Ocean Cafe, 293 Ocean Street in Marshfield

Spaghetti Dinner, Live Entertainment, Cash Bar

Suggested donation $25, $50, $100

Friday, October 2, 2015

Thirsty Thursday Democratic Primary Debrief and Social

Thursday Democratic Primary Debrief and Social
Union Brewhouse
550 Washington Street Weymouth, MA 02188
Thursday, October 15 2015
Sponsored by South Shore Progressives
Come join fellow progressives, democrats, independents, republicans and/or anyone interested in social and political progress. All positive, active and thoughtful folks welcome. We respect and appreciate intelligent and stimulating political and social discourse.

This gathering will be informal with discussions probably varying from table to table but our main topic will be to discuss and of course analyze the October 13 democratic party debate. Who won? Who lost? What’s next? This is a great casual networking opportunity with learning and camaraderie included.

Also, let's talk about what’s going on with the American electorate. Of course any other political topics folks want to bring up amongst themselves is always welcome and encouraged. This meet-up is a flexible informal pay as you go event with no reserved tables.

Our first casual progressive social worked out so well we are scheduling more! Hope to see you on October 15th.

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Teacher on the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) forbidden, by law, to have public school educators serve as members
YES, you, as well as many people, may be shocked to learn that: :" current law forbids public school educators from serving as members of the BESE — the board that governs our profession,” said MTA President Barbara Madeloni. “Most educators are not even able to attend board meetings because those meetings are almost always held during school hours. Currently, individuals who stand to profit from decisions made by the BESE are welcome to hold seats on the board, but no place is designated for professional educators."
There is a high school student on the board, and there is one labor representative, but there is not one active teacher or paraprofessional."
“It’s time for the BESE to include the experts in the field on the board that governs them,” Madeloni said.
H. 375 and S. 269 are House and Senate versions of a bill that would add two educator representatives to the BESE — one nominated by the MTA and the other by AFT Massachusetts. These will be among the bills heard by the Joint Committee on Education at 10 a.m. on Wednesday, Sept. 9, in Room A-2 of the State House.
YOU can help by get representatives on the board by:

Clicking here for a link to a petition to be signed by currently active preK-12 educators.
Clicking here for a link to a petition to be signed by retired educators, higher education members, parents and others who support the proposal..
Thanks for your attention.

Sherley A. Phillips
24th Senate District Coordinator: Sen. Brian Joyce
Bristol, Norfolk and Plymouth Counties

Monday, August 10, 2015

Bridgewater DTC August Meeting

Join the Bridgewater Democratic Town Committee for our monthly meeting Wednesday (yes, Wednesday) evening at 7PM. Agenda includes:

1. 4th of July Recap
2. October Event
3. Re-Organization
4. Autumnfest
5. State Convention
6. Rita Dziergowski Scholarship
7. Town Committee Nomination Sheets
8. Membership/Voter Registration Drive

We look forward to seeing you for our busy night of business! See you there and bring a friend!